Broken Foundation

Entry #1~Route 66 series

 

Study for a painting

 This sad little building got stuck in my head.  The above image I made from memory, which I have been practicing. (Below is my original photo.)

It wasn’t seeing a lot of action, but the altars across the way were still in frequent use.

 

~ by oddgirl art on April 19, 2011.

3 Responses to “Broken Foundation”

  1. This is such great Americana. I like the sketch. Where along the route was this? Oklahoma? New Mexico? Another area? It looks so desolate. I’d love to travel Route 66 one day!

    • Thank you Karin! It was lovely in that minimalist way. Every American artist should travel that road at some point, even Expats ;] it is such a romantic notion. This particular image was in New Mexico. I found it enchanting indeed!

  2. Cracks in the Foundation indeed. My Grandparents had to sell out and give up the farm. Whenever my dad saw a deserted, broken down farm, he would get sad and wistful, remarking that folks “broke their backs” and it was all gone to the dogs. I sort of inherited his attitude. When I see this picture, I think of the little congregation that once worshipped here, a community scattered to the winds. The broken wall has metaphorical power. It looks like a mouth crying out.

Leave a Reply

 
